Try Something New

Hey everyone! I know I’ve been gone for a while, but I’ve been pretty busy writing. Or rather, trying to be inspired.

try something newI don’t really believe in writer’s block, but I do believe in not being able to come up with an idea. I know what you’re thinking: “What’s the difference?” Well, the problem isn’t writing, but rather writing something good. Something original.

I know a lot of you who read my blog are up and coming authors who want to make it big or dream of making it big. It’s okay, but I’m going to tell you the main reason why a lot of the authors immediately sink before they’re even published: everything they write has been seen before.

No idea is 100% original, but that doesn’t mean it has to be a copy of every other story. Let’s take Teenage Romance Novels: I think they can be either really good or really bad. A lot of people would probably rather read a teenage romance rather than a classic, because 1) it’s easier to read and 2) it’s more interesting because…it’s easier to read. Well, here’s the gist: they’re all about a girl who goes to a town and is dealing with some family or mental problem, and then she meets this boy who “changes her world”. Realistic? Maybe not.

If you hope to make it big in that genre, you’ve got to do something different either with 1) your story or 2) your writing style. The only story that I believe has matched this level and has been able to strive beyond it is The Fault in Our Stars by John Green. Teenage angst, yes, but will immediately make a person with a heart cry. That’s how powerful our words can be.

What I’m ultimately trying to say is that it is extremely difficult to have a story that will be popular and successful, because there are so many stories out there. Next problem: “How do I become successful?”

Well, I’m not a bestselling author, or a published author at all, but I have read my fair share and I have put a hand into the industry enough times to say that you need to be different. Good different, like a classic novel, or bad different, like Fifty Shades of Grey (no offense! sorry!). Different is what all the critics love  to talk about, and then there’s this “buzz” that spreads throughout the big publishing industries. That’s how you stand out.

So how do you become different? You’ve got to do something different, something that isn’t in your comfort zone.let's try something new That goes to say for everything other than writing, as well. I have been writing screenplays for short videos, and I have noticed a long pattern throughout my stories that I know won’t be able to stand out because they’re just too ordinary. So, I’ve tried to take my own advice, or rather the advice of what other’s have told me, and I’ve done as much as I can outside of my comfort zone. I try to think, “Hey, what is something that I would never do or have this character do?” and then I do it. If it sucks, hopefully someone will tell me so and I can tweak it. But it’s what the audience likes.

So if you’re bored with what you write or do as a hobby or if you’re wondering why nobody wants to look at your stuff, you should try something new. I’m not saying to erase all your hard work, but I do believe that it could never hurt you.

 

Leave a Reply

