When You’ve Done the Unforgiveable

forgiveness

We have a new guest tonight from Kristen at 32 Ounces of Goodness. I’ll be honest with you guys – her site may be one of your favorite places to surf to. Not only is it about the best nom noms that you’ve ever heard of, but it’s about our relationship with our foods, with our people, and with our surroundings. Strongly recommend that you check her spot out!

***

I’d say I’ve done it twice in my life: something so unforgivable that I looked at the people around me and felt guilty that any of them still had to breathe the oxygen that I contaminated with my mistake. Done something so awful that I created seismic reproductions that rippled through every part of my life.

I’m big on forgiveness (for yourself and for others), but is there a level of hurt so cruel that you don’t deserve to be forgiven by others or to forgive yourself?

I’ve been pondering this a lot recently in the wake of a pretty monumental mistake. What makes someone worthy of forgiveness? What even is forgiveness?

I don’t have any good answers to these questions. That’s the bad news. The good news is that as I recover from a horrible mistake that has hurt a lot of people, I have learned through the forgiveness and love of others that there is no unforgiveable, only an inability to become better.

You will always deserve forgiveness. Mistakes come in different magnitudes, but everybody makes them, and what separatesforgive the people who get though them from those who don’t is the ability to accept responsibility, acknowledge what you’ve done, and commit yourself to being better.

Be better than you were the day before. Whether you think you’ve made a mistake or not, be better. Say one more kind thing, push one minute longer on the treadmill, give one extra ounce of attention to your work, and smile at one more person. Be just a bit more compassionate towards yourself and much more compassionate towards others. Go to bed early and wake with the intention of spreading positivity.

Mistakes make us who we are, but they also tell us who we’re not. They place stones on the track that we can walk away from, and as we pass them by over and over as we move forward, we can still move forward from them. Look at the stones you’ve placed and tell yourself that you’ll never be that again, that you can run farther than you ever previously would have without that weight, and when you’re ready, forgive yourself.

One thought on “When You’ve Done the Unforgiveable

Leave a Reply

