5 Ways to Get Out of the Blue

tumblr_n8kiukxBju1tc2wy5o1_500

It’s okay to feel sad. And it’s a lot harder than it seems to make yourself feel better, like you’re incapable of preventing yourself from worrying and dwelling on the issue. This goes for stress, as well, and trust me: I may be the worst when it comes to worrying about the test I might have failed or the offensive comment I might have accidentally made.

1. Cry It Out. It’s okay to cry. For me, I hate crying in front of people because I hate it when they tell people about how much I whine (when I don’t) and think I’m a drama queen (which I’m not). So, when I say cry it out, you don’t have to do so in front of people. Go to the bathroom and lock yourself in a stall: nobody will know it was you. I’ve been through the phase where I would cry every time I lost a debate round or every time I disappointed my parents, and it was embarrassing to have all my friends watch me run off in tears: it took a lot of time and strength for me to overcome that phase. You can cry in front of your friends, and if they’re truly your friends, they’ll know how to handle it in a way that you’re comfortable with. But, you should let it out, or it’s going to be bottled up for a while.

2. Watch a Lifetime Movie. I don’t usually encourage watching Lifetime Movies because they’re just so bad. But, in this case, I praise their existence. These movies are so cliché that it’s both hysterical and enticing at the same time, which makes it so great when you’re trying to distract yourself and think about other things. Because “William and Kate” is the worst/greatest movie in existence. Such a waste of time, but so worth it.

3. Talk to Your Friends. This will take time. Honestly, if you’re immediately running to your friends after something bad has happened to you, you’re really not that sad. If you’re really sad and don’t want to immediately talk about your feelings, you’re going to want to be alone. And people won’t reach out to you unless they see you sad or you tell them that you are sad. So, don’t talk to people. Usually, you can figure out these internal conflicts by yourself, but if you’re still confused and feel shitty after about an hour, go talk to a friend who will understand. Not the kid next door.

4. Absorb Yourself in Your Hobbies. I hope you have a hobby, first of all. It gives you something to do and something to think about other than school. I hate to do this, but I feel like this is the best way to describe it: I’m going to redirect this to a hobby that I specifically do. I play the piano, and I’ve played competitively for many years. But, whenever I was sad or angry, I always ran to the piano. You see, my biggest strength was expression and the ability to feel the notes I was playing. So, when I’m sad, I’ll play a sad song and, sometimes, I’ll cry with it. And that’s okay. When I’m angry, I’ll play a loud piece by Tchaikovsky, banging on the keys until my fingers hurt. And that’s okay, too.

5. Sleep It Off. GO TO SLEEP. Do not stay up late dwelling on your problems. It’s unhealthy. So count sheep, read a book, listen to music. Do something.

Because your problems aren’t worth giving up sleep for.

Leave a Reply

