I take pictures now.

When you first find a hobby (that you actually like, not that your parents forced you to find), you sort of suck at the beginning, but you get better. Not because someone is making you, like a coach, but rather because you want to get better. That’s the purpose of a hobby. We do things because we want to do it, separate from our careers and our academia. It keeps us living and it keeps us happy. So whether that is taking pictures, writing, playing soccer every Wednesday, or what, it has to be something you like.

So in high school, I was really into film-making. I knew how to point out the shots, write the stories, etc. but I never really liked the dedication that it required. I was one of those people who was into everything, but the problem with that is indecisiveness. In college, I saved up money to buy a camera (like a professional one) and I wanted to start taking pictures. I made some videos with a crew, but it’s so time-consuming that we have to shoot when there is no school in order to make good videos. I found the photo-option on my camera and started taking a class, going out on my own on little “scavenger hunts” around campus to take my own pictures. Here are a few featured, and more are on the sidebar!

cropped-img_50731.jpg

IMG_5220

IMG_5084

IMG_5237

Like I said, most people usually suck when they start, so don’t feel bad. Of course, I’m not too hot myself at the moment, but I’m hoping that I will improve with some of your help and feedback (especially the photographers who have been doing this for a while)! I hope in the next 4 years that I’ll be able to maybe start an independent studio, where I can take senior photos and portraits. A method to combine what I love with a side-job. I sort of started trying it out with my friend, Nive, when she needed me for a photo-shoot. Don’t know how it turned out, but I would really like your input: a couple of her pictures are on the side-bar!

Oh and don’t forget: you will get updates and pictures from my trip to France as well. Super psyched!

8 thoughts on “I take pictures now.

  1. The trick to photography is knowing your camera and how to manipulate its settings to get the photos you want. If it’s a DSLR, turn it on manual and start playing around with how aperture, shutter speed, and ISO combine to get certain effects. Choose one subject, and take photos of it while marking what settings you had it on. Decide what you like/don’t like about each and figure out how to change that in the settings.
    Besides that, keep an eye out for interesting shapes, angles, etc (which you already seem to be doing).

    Like

    • Thanks! I think I’m still getting used to my camera…maybe experimenting with it a little bit more would help. Just got a find a good time to go out and explore. I have a T5i and I took a class on it, but it didn’t really help much. So maybe practice will help and hopefully with more time, it’ll get better!

      Like

  2. CAT,

    Good shots!

    Pic#1 img_50731.jpg
    Looks good at this enlargement. I wouldn’t go larger.

    Pic#2 img_5220.jpg
    I like this one, except the reflection of trees is breaking up.
    I’d crop it without the window.
    That way I like it at normal & full enlargement.
    At full it has a sort of Modern art type look.
    I like it.

    Pic #3 img_5084.jpg
    Looks good at regular enlargement but breaks up too much at full enlargement.
    The short depth of field may have been the problem here.
    The sky creeping into view in the left bottom corner is distracting.
    I’d crop the left & bottom in this one.

    Pic #4 img_5220.jpg
    Now this one is different! I really like it.
    At regular enlargement is just great.
    At full enlargement it breaks up quite a bit but the effect is outstanding.
    It has a surrealistic look to it.
    So I like it both ways.

    Your friends.jpg is really good.
    That’s a tough pic to create, back-lit with the bright sun.

    I can teach anyone to be an expert fotographer in 5 minutes.
    With Children it takes only 3 minutes.

    Keep up the good work.

    —ed

    Like

    • Thank you so much Ed! Still working on it and am wondering if I should buy any filters…but I’m sort of broke. I use photoshop elements to edit. Any tools you recommend for low budget costs? I was thinking of getting a polarizer in the near future…still wondering if it’s worth the price.

      Like

      • CAT,

        Yes, to filters.
        I’m not up on digital cameras as I am film ones.
        Normally I’d suggest Haze #1 filter. It’s stronger than UV filters & cuts through Haze & reduces the blueness. I always left mine on all the time because it protects the lens from damage from nicks. It’s cheap insurance. A new lens or having a scratch buffed out costs much more.

        Re: polarizer
        It depends on the type of shooting you do.
        For me I couldn’t live without it.
        It cuts down on glare, it brings out the clouds more. I’ve shot pics with rain slick roads and adjusted to partially remove some of the glare so I had detail & slight amount of glare.
        It’s fun to play with and can help make some great images.

        Now about price, I can’t believe how expensive filters and everything has gotten.
        My suggestion is 1. win the lottery; 2. marry a rich man; 3. get adopted by rich parents; 4. Sell your Grandmother. 🙂

        Otherwise if you can find a pawn shop, 2nd hand Photo store, estate auctions, check ads in paper, Freecycle (Recycle rather than throw away. They’re a National org. Free to join.), eBay & Amazon. It used to be that one could find filters in good condition.

        If your looking for color filters it used to be you could find Gel (Plastic) filters a lot cheaper than glass ones. Downside they scratch more easily & you need to get an adapter for your lens.

        Filters can fade after time. Some last longer than others.

        A lot of people use Photoshop. For ‘net use I wish they would have gone with the RBG (Red, Blue, Green, the primary colors of light) protocol used on the web, rather than their own proprietary system. I used Photoshop but had good luck with other easier & cheaper programs.

        Apple MACs are still the best for images & videos. And their photo programs are good. But MACs are more expensive to begin with.

        I now used Linux (Xubuntu version). It’s free & safer than any Microsoft’s OS (Operating System) (windows). I have used some type of Linux for 15+ years.
        I use GIMP Image Editor. It’s available for all platforms; Microsoft windows, Apple/MAC and Linux. It’s also FREE! So if you need to upgrade or add to Photoshop, you may want to try one of the free Image Editors.

        Does your camera use interchangeable lenses? If so there are many excellent older lenses that may be adapted to it. You may lose some automatic features by the manual settings should work.

        There’s much I don’t know because of changing technology, but there are a few good sites that can help with recommendations, testing, reviews, etc. A few are:
        dpreview.com
        digitalcamerareview.com
        pcmag.com/reviews/digital-cameras

        There are also some good sites on shooting digitally.
        Do a search for “How to use Digital camera”, etc.

        Here’s my abbreviated form of my ‘Make you a expert photographer in 5 min” course which is best taught in person with a hands on learning.

        You need to know the technical part of shooting, the settings, the operation of your camera, so that you can do them in your sleep.

        Then next forget all you’ve been taught about composition. Shoot with your gut. When your viewing a scene, if it ‘feels good’, Shoot It!

        Let’s say you want to do a scenic shot. Look at it without your camera, then through your viewfinder, then when you find the image that feels good, quickly check to see if there are overhead power lines, tree branches, etc., showing up in the view. If so move slightly forward or to the side , then shoot.

        When we see a beautiful picture our brain ignores the distractions (power lines, branches, etc.) and sees only the beautiful scene. But the camera records it all. Sure you can photoshop it but it’s much better to get as close to the perfect image while shooting.

        Why it takes less time to teach a young child than an adult, is that they haven’t yet had their creativity drummed out of them.

        The 2nd part of learning to see like a child. a creative child, is to find a 3 to 5 year old that hasn’t gone to school yet. Get a Finger Paint set and sit down with that child and briefly show them how to use it. (They’re allowed to get messy and they love it.) If you need to suggest they paint an outdoor pic or their house, etc. Then after they have done 2 or 3, YOU do a few.
        Shock, surprise, usually the child’s painting will be free flowing, vibrant and yours will be stilted by comparison.

        Keep practicing until your ‘Creative Child” emerges.
        Then your “Adult” can keep track of all the technical and mechanical portions of creating pictures.

        Whoa, I’m sorry i went so long. I hope this wasn’t too long.

        Good shooting,

        ed

        Like

Leave a Reply

