Bright Lights

bright lights

Sitting here with you

Is like watching the bright lights

Flicker on and off

With static buzzing in the night air

As I contemplate these foreign emotions

Sitting here with you

In the dark night

Is like feeling those sharp colors

Bright colors

Ones I don’t exactly know how to control

Control is a power that everyone should have

We should be able to make decisions

About our lives

Our paths

Our futures

But how come I can’t control

These emotions?

Because it’s like watching those bright lights

Flicker on and off

And then burn so bright

That they spark into fireworks

Colorful ones

I don’t know what colors they are, though

I am still lost

And I am still thinking

Still contemplating these foreign emotions

Should I stretch my arm

And brush it against yours?

Should I lean in a little closer

In fear of what may happen next?

Should I…speak?

Or should I open my eyes

To see those bright lights

Even though

Sitting here with you

Is already like seeing the bright lights.

Leave a Reply

