Has Love Really Won the War?

Hundreds of people gather outside the US Supreme Court building in Washington, DC on June 26, 2013 in anticipation of the  ruling on California's Proposition 8, the controversial ballot initiative that defines marriage as between a man and a woman. The US Supreme Court on Wednesday struck down a controversial federal law that defines marriage as a union between a man and a woman, in a major victory for supporters of same-sex marriage.The Defense of Marriage Act (DOMA) had denied married gay and lesbian couples in the United States the same rights and benefits that straight couples have long taken for granted. AFP PHOTO / MLADEN ANTONOV        (Photo credit should read MLADEN ANTONOV/AFP/Getty Images)

There are only two things that bother me about the gay-marriage ruling: one, the Supreme Court vote was a 5-4 so gay marriage almost lost, and two, there are people on social media who are trying to debate same-sex marriage.

Not today, bud. Not today.

Either way, there is something beautiful about this moment, and maybe it’s that the state and the government is now willing to change with society, which is something that I thought would take a while. You see, if you want to bring social change among the world, or even a nation, it takes time. It’s a process. Not just one person can create an epitome for society to immediately switch to one belief, or we’d all be a roller coaster of religions. To be completely honest, I was extremely worried that the state, or even society, may not ever come to sympathize with gay marriage, at least not for another 5-10 years.

Yet, it happened a couple days ago, and there’s really nobody else to thank but the 5 Supreme Court Justices in favor plus SCOTUS.

Here was the ruling for those of you who didn’t know:

“No union is more profound than marriage, for it embodies the highest ideals of love, fidelity, devotion, sacrifice, and family. In forming a marital union, two people become something greater than they once were.”

How come we haven’t reached this realization sooner?

As a matter of fact, I love this ruling, because it is simple, easy to understand, and reaches out to those who may possibly not understand. There is a separation between the church and the

58754 Mercer; Trenton 1/7/2010  Supporters of gay marriage enter the state house prior to Thursday's vote at the New Jersey Senate. TYSON TRISH/STAFF PHOTOGRAPHER   Original Filename: 8h600l8m.jpg   IPTC record 115: The Record (Bergen Co., N.J.)   IPTC record 116: © 2009 NORTH JERSEY MEDIA GROUP

state, and the state shouldn’t make same-sex marriage illegal if that’s a concept the church is against. The other great fact about this ruling is that it doesn’t target same-sex marriages, but, in fact, envelopes all types of marriages, whether it’s between man and woman or transgender couples. It invites the LGBTQ community to come out and be themselves, because they know that the state backs their decisions. In addition, the ruling gives room for more societal change in the future, when same-sex marriage may not be the national issue anymore.

What is more “religious” or “belief-like” than love? Than family? For a gay man, marrying another man is just like me, a straight woman, marrying another man. We’re not the same gender, but we have the same intentions. When was gender ever important when it came to love?

However, in my title above, I ask if love has really won the war. Genuinely, I think it has won the state over, but it has only won about 5 Supreme Court Justices out of 9, which makes me worried. SCOTUS barely won, and, at least, that is a start to a huge parade of changes. The problem is that the most conservative judges out there were against same-sex marriage, including Chief Justice Roberts, and I’m not really sure why they ruled against it other than the idea that maybe their beliefs got in the way of their decision, hence separation of the church and the state. He blames the people who elect the government for not wanting this decision to partake, yet if a majority of the Supreme Court says, “Yes,” the likelihood that a majority of society will say, “Yes,” is also incredibly high.

This brings me to my next point: is there a possibility that a huge mass of society is against this ruling? Yes, of course. This is a huge change in the same-sex marriage movement, and there willHmL8a.AuSt.91 always be someone out there who disagrees with what you say or what you believe in. Since this is such a big controversy, there are a lot of people who are against this. Yesterday, I opened up my Facebook wall, and I saw this post by a really Christian boy from high school who stated that God loves the sinner, but hates the sin. He continued to discuss his opposition to the Supreme Court ruling, and I’m guessing that he’s not the only one.

Naturally, there was debate on his wall, filled with hurtful comments, not towards him, but rather how hurt and offended some people felt when reading this post. Because it’s true. It hurts to see society turn against you and your beliefs – this is really what got me to realize what the same-sex union movement was all about. When I was younger, I didn’t realize that having a boy like another boy was possible, mainly because my extended family is incredibly conservative and Christian. Every Christmas, I went to my grandparents’ house while they made some racist comment about Obama and my uncle would talk about God hating the sinners, because there was no such thing as a “gay hormone,” which obviously meant that science disproved homosexuality.

What they said about not only homosexuality, but also race and gender, were extremely mean and rude. I didn’t really fully understand these concepts until I joined debate in high school, because it opened my mind up to both new ideas and inspiration: these are the two factors that drive our world forward. It drives technological innovation. It drives cultural changes. Debate forced me to switch my positions, switch shoes, if you could say.

What if I, a heterosexual woman, lived in a world that hated heterosexuality and was, predominantly, homosexual? I wouldn’t have the right to marry another man or to even admit to anybody that I liked boys. If it was illegal, gay_marriage_81102178the state may do some tests on me and try to force me to become gay, which is basically the same thing we used to do to gay people a few years ago.

I would feel so lost. No self-identity. No support. No love, from not just another man, but the entirety of society. That’s not love. That’s not the reason why we have religion and belief systems.

Then, I shadowed over how my friends, who were homosexual, felt. It would feel awful. It would feel unloved.

And, as I am told, that’s not what the church is about.

2 thoughts on “Has Love Really Won the War?

  1. A beautiful post and so well-written.Thank goodness there were 5 that could see the truth that all people are equal and deserve to be treated so under the law. Truly great but yes, there are those who still debate. I unfollowed one yesterday and wrote about it. Made me sad, mad but in the end, I chose to no longer read her because I just couldn’t stomach the hatred. Have a great day and thanks for posting. Cheryl

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

