An Ode to My Cup of Coffee

coffee-and-breakfast1

I never liked coffee. It was probably because my parents were obsessed with it, but never let me drink it. Obviously, it was also because I was five years old and couldn’t wait to grow up. I can still remember going to family reunions when I was about four years old in Colorado, and my aunt would make this HUGE pot of coffee and then distribute it. As the oldest cousin, I expected to be treated differently, like an adult, but the pot always passed me when being communally poured. I asked my dad if I could try some, and, of course, he said no. Probably a smart thing to say, because it’s probably not a genius idea to give your child more caffeine to boost the energy meter. It’s not like they need it.

But, that’s the thing: you should really drink coffee when you need it. It’s like this beautiful drug that you can become addicted to after a while. It’s healthy in the short run and in moderation, but too much can do some serious damage.

Yet, you may be getting a little hint of what I’ve gone through this summer with my last post, Mirror, Mirror. As a collegiate student who is trying to simultaneously ace her classes while struggling to lose weight, I worked to find alternatives to anything I ate. Or drank. Because I was seriously cutting back on calories and carbohydrates, water was no longer sufficient enough to get me going in the mornings.

Another thing to note: I hate soft drinks. I mean, the occasional lemonade in the hot sun and the ginger ale to make the stomach feel better is fine. However, I have never really been fond of a coke or a sprite because the carbonation makes my nose burn and my throat tingle to the point of annoyance. I guess that’s good for someone who wants to lose weight: more water, less bloating, less sugar. Whoo!

Let’s also get this straight, though: a water diet doesn’t work if you’ve been drinking water your whole life. I used to get up at six in the morning with just a glass of water and a bagel. I probably could have drunk as many soft drinks as I wanted, too, because I was an athlete and could burn it off in about thirty minutes. Unfortunately, I don’t have that luxury anymore and a tall glass of orange juice now would probably cause me to gain about three pounds.

It sucks to grow up.

I wish I knew that when I was younger. It’s ironic how every little kid does everything to feel like a grown-up, but every grown-up will probably do almost anything to be a little kid again. As a kid, we want freedom, but as an adult, we could go for some nap times. Or a lot of nap times. The luxuries we thought were for adults are actually necessities and not as exciting as we once thought they were. When I was ten years old, I couldn’t wait to wear a bra, but now it’s just a part of life.

It’s a necessity. Just like when you show up to college (residential) for the first time in your life. The first couple weeks of your freshman year feel like camp, but then after a while, the magic of freedom sort of goes away. You find that you’re broke and actually can’t spend money on pizza every weekend. You’ll also find that you can eat as many cookies as you want in the dining hall, but it’ll take a severe toll on your body. You don’t have to exercise as many times as your mom used to make you, but you’re going to become a huge lump on your bed. You’ll also find that working on school makes you want to cry every minute because it seems as if your professors have all conspired against you and are planning all their tests on the same day.

And you could really just use a cup of coffee.

It has zero calories. Zero sugar. Zero carbs. And, to be fair, even just a teaspoon of Splenda won’t hurt you.

A couple of weeks ago, I tried coffee for the first time. This took an urgent push by my parents, because I was pretty resistant to the idea of shooting too many drugs into my system (which is stupid, I know, since I do go out on Saturday nights). It was also probably because I kept coming to the kitchen at six in the morning to walk about five miles and come back dying because all I drank was water.

Baaaad idea.

So the first time I tried coffee, it was so bitter, and I hated it. Yet, after about two tablespoons of half and half and a teaspoon of Splenda, it got a little better. I’m a gal who needs something sweet, and the only way you can make coffee as sweet as I like it is to make half the drink filled with sugar. That wasn’t going to happen because I’m on a severely restricted diet, which I will talk about later this month. However, like everything else in life, you have to take what you like. Even though I hated the coffee, I figured out ways to like it. Instead of the strong black dark roast my parents drink, I switched to a medium roast. It’s not that I forced myself to like the drink, but rather that I got used to it.

And at the end of that day, coffee was like my hero. I was sprinting up and down, focusing harder and getting more things done, and I was running around with so much energy. It was AMAZING! I hadn’t felt that way in so long. Like years.

You may think I’m exaggerating, but there’s a reason why I’m making an ode to my cup of jo’. I may unfortunately have grown up now, but it is so worth it with a hot pot of steaming coffee sitting in front of me.

3 thoughts on “An Ode to My Cup of Coffee

  1. Pingback: 6 Ways to Make Good Use of Your Time – 100 Ways to Write

  2. Pingback: For That One Who Wants to Lose Weight – 100 Ways to Write

  3. Pingback: Remember That Summer Bucket List? – 100 Ways to Write

Leave a Reply

