For That One Who Wants to Lose Weight

Woman preparing stew

After yesterday’s post, I received some comments about my eating condition. Just to clarify, I have been working on that post for about a month, and I would be lying to say if I was never frustrated during the dieting process. I’m a girl who is in love with food and cooking. I see gastronomy as an art that can be appreciated by literally anyone because food is essential to life. So living off of scrambled eggs and chicken breast was not exactly fun because I couldn’t bake cookies or cupcakes since nobody would eat all of them. I realized how hard it was to cut back on carbs.

I’m fine, now. Luckily, this summer has transformed me into a creative muse when it comes to cooking and finding healthier recipes for everyone. It’s really not that hard. I like to cook, but I’m also sort of lazy when it comes to making extravagant meals. Yet, I had to keep the lifestyle somewhat interesting, and the only way to do that was to begin finding foods that I could actually make. Not crack a couple of eggs into a pan and call that a meal…that’s sort of lame. I found foods that had flavor and almost zero carbs. You can look on the Atkins site or any other “healthy blogger” site for recipes, but they all usually involve chocolate to satisfy the sweet tooth.

For that one who wants to lose weight, I’m going to have to break it to you: you’re going to have to give up chocolate for some time. Having 10 chocolate strawberries may seem “healthy,” but I guarantee that you are not losing any weight. Certain fruits have way too much sugar (like bananas and mangos), so we do have to give those up, too. I do my best to avoid bread or any type of grain, because 1) they’re good but extremely unfulfilling and 2) they have about 70g of carbs. For the past month, I’ve been eating under 20g of carbs. Oh, how did you survive, Chelsea?

Well, you should exercise always. No matter if you are on a diet or not. It keeps your heart pumping and your life will be ten times better. If there’s one thing I don’t regret about this diet, it’s the fact that it got me up in the morning to run around. So I’m providing a few foods that I ate and loved: some people think its high in fat and calories. One, some of them may have some fat, yes. It’s unavoidable. They also have calories. I don’t calorie count. Honestly, I’d rather eat a bunch of protein and a crap ton of calories. Why? Because if I’m going to exercise, I need energy. And calories are just units of energy. You want most of your calorie intake to be made up of proteins.

Crack a book. Not the weird fad diet ones, but one by a dietician. Or at least a doctor. I know you’re starving yourself, and you really want to eat. I’m here to help.

No, I did not go vegetarian. Or dairy-free. Or gluten-free. It’s probably because I didn’t really need to, and I do draw the line when it comes to living the way I can live. That doesn’t mean restricting myself for no reason, but rather actually appreciating the things I can actually eat. Because it’s honestly a privilege to not have any allergies.

One: Coffee 

coffee

Zero carbs. Zero calories. But this is one thing I seriously CANNOT live without. Plus, a good cup of jo’ is good before the morning workouts.

Two: Parmesan Chips

parmesan chips

SO easy to make. All you’ve got to do is take a tablespoon of parmesan cheese and spread it on a Silpat. Do this about 12 more times and then bake it in the oven for 5 minutes at 400 degrees Fahrenheit. You’ll find yourself constantly munching on these instead of the average potato cheese. And you want to know the best part? It has zero grams of carbs and, if you’re counting, only 20 calories per tablespoon/chip.

Three: Caesar Salad

caesar salad

I know what you’re about to say. “But Caesar salad dressing is SO bad for you.” I know, dudes, but it’s got flavor and it’s pretty damn good. Honestly, about 1 tablespoon of Caesar salad dressing has only 1 carb, which is actually not bad at all. Don’t top the thing with croutons, because, heck yeah, that’s unhealthy. As a matter of fact, putting some grilled chicken on top gives texture with some shredded Mozzarella or Swiss. Overall, having about 2 cups of Caesar salad really is only 2-3g of carbohydrates because lettuce and chicken don’t have any carbs. Plus, a salad is more filling than any slice of bread out there.

Four: Frittatas

frittata

It was difficult for me to figure this one out. A frittata is like the split between an omelet and a quiche. A quiche is more of an egg custard with a pie shell while an omelet is just eggs in a pan that is flattened and cooked. So, the frittata is this fancy Italian dish that people usually eat for breakfast. Ridiculously healthy if you do this right. Only if you do it right, though. Don’t do the potato frittatas (CARBS), but throw in some veggies. A frittata is a quiche without the pie shell, which is where most of the carbs come from. All in all, a frittata is also just a baked omelet, which makes your life a lot more interesting when cooking. Plus, you can add whatever you want and this dish would last you about a week or two solid. Eggs plus veggies plus cheese equals yay to protein and zilch carbs.

Five: Anything with Brie

brie

A very French cheese and a very good one, might I add. It’s got a sort of smoky flavor in the back and it’s really creamy. It tastes like one of your guilty pleasure foods, because it’s so creamy and soft. Not only that, but brie has about .4g of carbs per cup, so if you ever feel hungry for no apparent reason (or just bored, in general), grab a slice of brie and you’ll feel full. That being said, don’t only eat brie because 1) that’s not healthy and 2) you’re going to bloat like crazy or pass a kidney stone. Plus having some brie with a little bit of fruit (lots of sugar, but it’s sugar that’s good for you) like strawberries or grapes!

Six: Bar-B-Que

barbeque

Since it’s summer time (almost finished, but fall still works!), you should be grilling some stuff up! Honestly, anything you put on a grill will taste good. If you’re a little carnivore like me, this is the feast: ribs, sausages, chicken on a stick, etc. The best part is that because it’s all meat and veggies that can taste RIDICULOUSLY delicious, you can eat it all. Zero carbs and tons of calories will give you enough energy to run laps around the city. It also feels good because you can pig out without gaining any excess weight. Just be careful not to only eat meat and protein because too much protein can cause your blood sugar to rise, which will cause you to gain weight.

Seven: Hummus

hummus

Hummus is dip that has descended from the Gods. It is made up of grinded garbanzo beans (really healthy for you by the way), and with a dash of chipotle, it tastes like heaven. No carbs and it’s a great food to snack on. Sometimes, when you’re on a diet, you’re going to have to eat every 2 hours to stop the binge eating and the cravings. Hummus is a good source for that, especially if you eat it with some celery sticks or something. As long as it’s not chips 😉

Eight: Cheesecakes

cheesecake

I really got into this recently, because I missed making desserts. I needed to do something that didn’t involve taking a prepared cake batter and mixing it with water or finding a cupcake recipe. I couldn’t eat it and nobody else would. Plus the sugar would just be sitting there and staring me in the face, which would probably cause me to break. The thing about cheesecake is that you’ve got to plan your day right to be able to leave some room for 5-8g of carbs. Compared to other desserts, this is damn good because it’s very low carb (if you use artificial sweeteners) and it satisfies your sweet tooth pretty well. I’ve been making some really interesting cakes: pumpkin marble, Irish cream, red velvet, etc. And it’s been really fun! The reason why it’s so low in carbs is because instead of being made up of mainly flower and sugar, it’s made up of cream cheese which as about 1g of carb per ounce. That’s a lot, and when you split the cheesecake into 12 pieces, you’re really not eating that much. Cheesecakes aren’t easy to make, which is why they’re so fun to bake. Go ahead and find one recipe. Take a crack at it. Of course, I advise a fairly easy one (like a New York Style).

 

 

One thought on “For That One Who Wants to Lose Weight

  1. Pingback: Remember That Summer Bucket List? – 100 Ways to Write

Leave a Reply

