Capturing Personalities

Hello, blog-land! As you know, I am sort of a novice photographer. A lot of my friends are actually photography majors or professional photographers. Yet, for me, photography is a hobby. That doesn’t mean I don’t want to get better, though (double negative?). Today, I went to a local mill and learned a lot: 1) lighting is a bitch and 2) capturing personality is a test. I worked with one of my muses, Shanan, as I made her change in and out of outfits. Despite how well she worked with me, I found that only about 10 of my 100 pictures actually looked good to my satisfaction. Even then, I had trouble capturing her personality.

IMG_6699

Above is how I see Shanan: happy, carefree, exciting. Yet, it took me a while to capture this image, and I’m not really sure why. I’ve known this girl for about 5 years, now, so you would think I’d know exactly what to do. Hint hint: I don’t. Art is art, and art is not easy. Yet, I need the practice, and I would like to, hopefully, take some pictures for people in the future. So I am exploring different ways to have people pose, which is somewhat difficult. Also, these pictures will be featured on my Facebook page, so please visit the page to see more of my other works!

As always, comments are much appreciated! And when I say comments, I also welcome criticism!

brick 1

brick 2

brick 3

catwalk 2

catwalk

headshot black and white

headshot

IMG_6530

IMG_6558

splash black and white

splash

straight on

twirl 2

twirl

wata

6 thoughts on “Capturing Personalities

  1. I did my best friend’s senior photos, and it really is hard to capture their personalities on camera. I do a lot of talking while behind the camera to put people at ease. Saying “gorgeous, beautiful” as often as you can reassures them that they look good, and I love making jokes about other things so that they’re laughing and natural on camera.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Your photos look good. With any hobby it will take time and practice to get better. In photography there a saying that your first thousand or so photo will be the worst photo you take. I would try engaging your model, something to get them to show their big smile or laugh. Also you can trying playing music, something that has a beat and make them want to dance and move. Last, lighting trying take your photo during the early morning hours or late in day like a hour or two before the sun set.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: Remember That Summer Bucket List? – 100 Ways to Write

Leave a Reply

