With the Top Down

Say, Geronimo!

This entire summer, I’ve been looking for the perfect summer song, and I had so many problems finding one that was just right. Something that made me happy, but wasn’t annoyingly loud. That made me relaxed, yet excited for new possibilities. This involved listening to new releases that were declared to be the “it” song of the summer. I did not agree with almost any of these testaments, however.

Then, I remembered something. I was riding in the car to a Frisbee game with one of my best friends last year. She’s one of the happiest people I’ve ever met, not to mention one of the smartest. I had always seen this girl as the “perfect person,” who could overcome anything while doing everything. FYI: nobody is perfect, but watching her drive and bob her head to the music seemed almost surreal. It was as if that is how I would want to live my life, exactly how I would want to live it.

So we rolled the windows down and blasted “Geronimo.” She told me she had just discovered this song, and the minute it began on her playlist, we were singing along. Of course, I had no idea what the words were, but I found myself listening to the song multiple times afterwards. Because for those three minutes, I felt infinite.
And it felt amazing.

That goes to show you that you can look for something only to realize that you’ve had it the whole time. It’s friendship and happiness. It’s excitement. It’s adrenaline.

So here’s to the Artist of the Month!

Sheppard debuted this song last year, which happened to be their sheppard2first song as a band together. When released, they explained that this was a song that they had actually come up with on a whim before a gig. To be honest, I’m not really sure what the music video is, and I don’t know if I’m supposed to guess what it’s “meaning” is. When I first heard this song, I could physically feel the excitement, but I’m confused by the ending of the video. I don’t understand the purpose.

However, there is a certain level of possibility that is exhibited through this song. By building the simplest thing, like a cardboard robot, you can still dream. It’s okay to start out small, but when you do, you should picture a bigger future. Endless possibilities. Infinity.

There’s not much to say. This isn’t a song that creates a political statement or societal frameworks. For the perfect summer song, it doesn’t need to be.

One thought on “With the Top Down

  1. Pingback: Remember That Summer Bucket List? – 100 Ways to Write

Leave a Reply

