Qu’est-ce que c’est?

feeling-lost

I am a brave person.

Well, I think I am.

I walk tall.

I stand tall.

I even speak tall.

Taller than everyone else

Because I know I’m a brave person.

Brave enough to sing

Brave enough to confront

I’m even brave enough to humiliate

But I’m not sure if I’m brave anymore

I talk and I speak

In words of jumbled French

In words that don’t make sense

In words that don’t even make sentences

I look to see

Blank stares.

Qu’est-ce que c’est?

That’s all I’m saying

What is this?

That’s all I’m thinking

I ask them and

They explain to me

Nicely, carefully

But very slowly

And suddenly I’m not brave

Anymore

I feel very

Lost.

And very

Empty.

Almost

Unaccomplished.

And

Blank.

I can’t even form a damn sentence

And I am eighteen years old

I should know how to speak

I should know how to listen

I should know how to talk

Just talk

But they still look at me

Blank

And I still feel

Blank

But the worst part is

That I can’t even say

“Blank.”

4 thoughts on “Qu’est-ce que c’est?

  1. Pingback: Progress? Still Not Sure. – 100 Ways to Write

  2. Pingback: The Power of the Culture Shock – 100 Ways to Write

  3. Pingback: Reflection 2.0 – 100 Ways to Write

Leave a Reply

