Found Some French Rap

                I’m finally back (yay)! I’ve got so much good news, but I think we need to wrap up the month of October with the AOTM real quick before we dive into new information. And, yes, I found some decent French rap (so proud).

Okay. I’m not going to lie and say that the French music videos are extraordinary. Even translated they don’t make sense to me.

I had this argument with my host family, and I’m not really sure how it started anyway. They asked me what French music I liked, and I remember saying, “Well…Zaz.” They continued to ask me and I then began listing people like Maître Gims. However, they corrected me and said that he’s actually Canadian, and he doesn’t always count because he sometimes sings in English.

But that’s about 5% of the time.

French rap is ridiculously cool. Like I’ve said before, in my opinion, almost everything sounds better in French. Beautiful, epic, sophisticated, anything. But the language itself isn’t as “flat” and intonations and tones play a very different role in conversation and music. Listening 3c431ffcc6fb7658d0146e31c9ec9ce853514f8887d9fto music is honestly one of the best ways to learn a new language. It’s definitely one of the hardest ways, but it is so worth it. Rap, especially, involves the play of a lot of slang words, which is good for conversation practice. However, some rap, like the song “ABCD, are incredibly fast. So you have to listen to it over and over again. Try singing along. To be honest, it’s not going to be easy and it’s going to get extremely tiring. Yet your vocab bank is going to expand tremendously.

Oh and by the way. Maître Gims isn’t even Canadian. He’s from the Congo.

ABCD is released from one of his very new albums. A lot of his famous stuff is on “Subliminal” album, which are also very good. But it’s always good to stay up to beat, huh?

Does he have an ulterior meaning like the other artists I talk about? Hm…perhaps. The great thing about rap is that it can be seen as a form of urban poetry; they have different meanings to different people. If you’re well-versed in urban culture, this type of rap may have a heavier impact on you. Yet, if you’re not, then maybe you’re just bopping to the side and listening to the tunes just for appreciation-sakes, which is also totally fine.

I find most of Maître Gims’ songs to be societally challenging. Most of them concern race and the mistreatment-slash-misunderstanding of his own self-identity. Am I reading too much into it? Well, yeah, perhaps. But at the same time, that’s the greatness of rap. That’s how I view American rap, like Kendrick Lamar. I appreciate it, but I don’t think I quite get it. My favorite songs of his happen to be the angrier ones, actually, which make me want to scream my head off and rock hard (could you imagine me doing that?). While I was in Caen this weekend, I actually walked to the top of a castle wall at 7:30 in the morning and listened to a string of 201410021798-fullangry songs by Maître Gims.

Now don’t you wish you could live like that?

Maybe you can! And maybe you have a different interpretation of his songs. Comment below and let me know! I have the song lyrics in English below (Google translate ftw because I don’t get some of the slang).

A, B, C, D, sir, this is my CV Say, there’s some time, frisbee, it was my CD Afak khouya, laisse- m’tèj me ‘out the window Loathing of then some time j’n’ai confidence in my OpinelThis world is crossed, you rods in the same evening I’m Black, is to jà complicated, no question of being an Asshole Oukhti, j’te have said, this guy tries to quer-ni te You f’ras you less teasing with Sergio Tacchini You seek the company but in the club, there ‘ has qu’des little girls who dream of contemplating the cocaine kingpins as soon disarmed, make me feel violated I saw my reflection in a lake I saw only purple ticket you want the truth or sing “We’re going to love?” When you know everything c’que I know, it’s hard to go s’faire vaccinated Seems qu’t’es a terror or a little enquiquineur Tell the pedophile that his crime n is not a minor offense No offense, it’s hard to be a true French The board brings the night, the day does not recommend you ask the Yorobo, is the robot Meugiwarano Never pull hunting, baby, in case of j’chierais roro Tell them that died, yes, this is my last word You’ve given up, you’ve gone as Massimo Garcia Gravissimo, t ‘ crazy the ground like a sumo It’s hard, really, you hold the walls, you’re in the cement Paris has its villains and bandits repented There’s people in the din and people waddle It wants to love to be able to brag out the te-tê crowned with the conk floured A, B, C, D, that’s not the Army Hi During qu’les brothers light up, Mother Earth remains substandard The enemy my way, in my wheel C4 The future is where? This one bar Subaru It r’commence each year already see ’em go after’ em see all crying, calling their chihuahua Chanel We try to get dirty, I’m captain Desailly as I’m the Zaire, as proud as those of s’revendiquent Djazaïr Full house in Paris Centre for Helen wandered You want it but her, she wants the ring 44 carat Star in the capital, star in the Nord-Pas de-Calais J’confierai not Aïcha to Jim because he is not square A, B … C, D

One thought on “Found Some French Rap

  1. Pingback: Reflection 2.0 – 100 Ways to Write

Leave a Reply

