Catharsis

A.K.A. The song that helps me release frustration. Plus, it’s time for AOTM, the last one of the year!

While I was in France (well, actually before), I got really into these morning walks. Most of the time, I used these walks to just think and listen to music. Preferably alone.

Because this is also the time when I like to let out frustration. Truthfully, I’m a fairly stressed out person and I can get angry if someone tries to test me at the wrong times. This is partially why I have to be alone for an hour and a half. One day, I remember walking to the top of a castle at 7am in the morning to just sit on the wall and let my muscles loose. Luckily, nobody was there. But that was when I found this song: “Crier tout bas”

I’ve known about Coeur de Pirate for a long time, maybe years. Along with Stromae, she may be one of the only singers that people know of who sings in French. And even then, it’s somewhat hard to find her. She did release a few songs in English, but they sucked ass. She’s Canadian and is a little quirky and weird, which happens to be extremely appealing to a modernizing youth population. When she was younger, she played the keys in a post-hardcore band called “December Strikes.” A little later, she decided to start her own band with her friend, Francis, called Coeur de Pirate.

Directly translated, “Coeur de Pirate” means “Heart of a Pirate.” As we all might know, pirates like to follow the philosophy of “fending for yourself,” ultimately leading to this idea of independence. As someone who wanted to start out a band, all she was looking for was a name. The best part was that there was never really a purpose behind making her coeur-de-pirate-02.jpgband other than that she just wanted to create her own music. Too many musicians are trying to squeeze into the spotlight so they can play on stage at the Staple center and rain in money. It’s partially why there’s a degradation in music.

Her voice is very distinguishable, and it’s soft in a way that’s difficult to describe. Along with “Crier tout bas,” a lot of her songs follow her experiences in life. But unlike Taylor Swift, she doesn’t use them to cry over breakups or pine after a man. If they are, they’re not blatant, which allows the songs to connect with any situation. All her songs have a variety: while some of them can be fun and exciting without deep meaning (Danse et Danse), she points out political issues like Stromae (Place de la Republique). In a way, this is my favorite aspect about her just because she’s not afraid to make an album to just make an album. Sometimes, we forget that music is for the ears. We don’t have to write with a specific purpose all the time. Music is here to share, and we need to remember that.

Translated, “Crier tout bas” means “Scream in a whisper.” The title itself gives away the reason for my catharsis. And it’s nice because I can do it silently. As a matter of fact, I may release a catharsis playlist that helps everyone release stress and annoyance. Her music video visualizes the emotions perfectly (even though I’m not a big fan of it).

Plus she just released a new album called “Roses” and it’s amazing. Go ahead and check it out!

Here are the lyrics to “Crier tout bas”! Translated, of course, for your convenience!

I saw you tracing along the landscape
A line of the loved ones who destroy you language
And when you were singing louder in your silence
I kept on seeing tears running down the wrong way

But when the seasons will wait for your return
The wind will bring help to you

If the earth is dark, if the rain is drowning you
Tell me just so we can shiver together
If that day never comes during the night of the lost ones
Tell me just so we can scream in a whisper

I tried to calm your breath that was choking
Races to emptiness, your laughter that was sighing
If you set sail for cloudy waters
I’ll be the lighthouse that will always guide you

But when the seasons will wait for your return
The wind will bring help to you

If the earth is dark, if the rain is drowning you
Tell me just so we can shiver together
If that day never comes during the night of the lost ones
Tell me just so we can scream in a whisper

I saw you tracing along the landscape
A line of the loved ones who destroy you language
And when you were singing louder in your silence
I kept on seeing tears running down the wrong way

If the earth is dark, if the rain is drowning you
Tell me just so we can shiver together
If that day never comes during the night of the lost ones
Tell me just so we can scream in a whisper

 

 

Leave a Reply

