Etiquette Books (Just Trust Me)

1

Step one: Go visit your parents, your grandparents, your great-grandparents and aunts, uncles… (Really any “great” relative will do).

This is for two reasons: Because they’re your family and they miss you terribly (let’s be honest… If you’re anything like me and the average young adult then you know that we never call enough and we probably owe them that visit we’ve been promising for months), but also, most importantly, because you need their exasperatingly outdated books.

Step two: Raid their book shelves.

Keep an eye out for the words “Manners”, “Etiquette”, “Gentleman”, “Lady”, “Elegance”, etc etc. I’m talking Emily Post and Amy Vanderbilt folks. I can picture you now, staring at these names on your computer screens with incredulous looks on your faces. Just trust me, I’ll even do it with you. I’m picking up Emily Post’s Etiquette in Society, in Business, in Politics and at Home from my mother’s collection.

Step three: Turn to a random page.

I’m at the beginning of chapter two titled “Introductions”.

Step four: Enjoy.

This is what I got for those of you out there that won’t follow my instructions *wink*:

The Correct Form

The word “present” is preferable on formal occasions to the word

“introduce.” On informal occasions neither word is expressed,

Though understood, as will be shown below. The correct formal introduction is:

“Mrs. Jones, may I present Mr. Smith?”

or,

“Mr. Distinguished, may I present Mr. Young?”

The younger person is always presented to the older or more distinguished, but a gentleman is always presented to a lady, even though he is an old gentleman of great distinction and the lady a mere slip of a girl.

 

Etiquette books are my newest form of entertainment (in case you’re wondering, my former go-to for entertainment was a game I made up that involved a pencil and thesaurus. I’m not even ashamed, it was awesome.) These irrelevant tips and politically incorrect comments always seem to make me laugh. The act of reading etiquette books is actually becoming popular once again, so if these are too serious or outdated then pick up one of the new spoofs sitting on bookshelves! Happy readings!

~ OWM (Babbles of a Bibliophile)

 

Leave a Reply

