Miss Peregrine’s Home for Misinterpretations

6

I better get my kicks in before the movie comes out and the internet explodes with criticism and commentary on this unique story. I hate to say it, but I think I might actually enjoy the movie more. *GASP*, I know. I think I was just caught off guard by it.

I’m not entirely sure what I was expecting from this book, but maybe something a little more realistic? How does one make a book about supernatural children more realistic? I honestly couldn’t tell you.

After years and years of my mother pestering me to read it (hi Mom) I was looking forward to what I perceived from the back cover to be a portfolio of different children and their abilities, almost like a collection of ghost stories with each chapter focusing in on their individual “gifts(?),” (read the story and you’ll understand my hesitation with using the words “gift” or “talent”).

Now don’t get me wrong, it’s a great book with an interesting plot line. I mean, it has to be if it got me to dedicate a whole day to it, right? Just know what you’re getting yourself into. This is fiction. Hardcore, series plot line fiction.

Maybe it was a misread on my part, or maybe I should admit that I never actually read the back cover and apologize for letting myself be let down by the assumptions I made based on the cover.

Stay informed and don’t fall into the bad habit of making uninformed speculations. We both know what assumptions make.

~OWM

Leave a Reply

