Let It Go!

elsa-anna-frozen-e1385489889559

You ready for a film critique?

Writing shouldn’t be the only things that express yourself, and the night shouldn’t only be reserved to make random posts on blogs that might be read or not. But, maybe you’ve guessed by the title that Disney’s Frozen, which happens to just be sitting on top of the box office, is the heart right now.

Not just of this article, but of everything: I’m not five and I still walk around hearing kids who are older than me singing the Academy-award winning song “Let It Go”. There is a psychological reason behind why people absolutely love this song; I haven’t had the chance to read all of it yet but it might have to do with the fact that it’s one of the catchiest, age-appropriate songs I’ve heard in a long time.

But it’s not only about the random music. I’m a huge film geek and I take my movies pretty seriously. If you haven’t seen Frozen before, I advise that you at least listen to some of the music, especially the song I talked about above. But, first off, I’d like to say that there is so much behind this movie that is ignored in so many ways; however, I guess that’s how marketing works. So many examples of how the best things in life can easily turn into the worst

I guess you can think of this as an unofficial movie critique:

1. The Story

I don’t know about you, but the overall theme is very good in my opinion. Yes, it’s like every Disney “Original” movie, where they take a Hans Christen Anderson or Grimm fairy tale and turn it into a big hit throughout the world. If you think this story is pure original, it’s not: read Hans Christen Anderson’s “The Snow Queen” or go watch the ballet about the Snow Queen, and you’ll realize what it’s about.

However, I am impressed with the movie. The original idea of “The Snow Queen” was about a woman who was born with these powers but used them to abuse others with snow and ice. She was always the villain. Yet, in Frozen, Disney has been able to reveal to the everyday audience that having an inborn evil (which in this case, was perceived as ice powers) does not mean that you are necessarily evil. You are not born a certain way or as a certain person, but rather you make your own identity and your own persona.

Also, kudos to Disney for making a Disney Princess who realizes that centering her life around love wasn’t always the best idea. As a matter of fact, I see it in a very satirical way: Anna, the princess, meets a prince, Hans, and immediately gets engaged to him, which we see in most Disney movies like Snow White and Sleeping Beauty. Yes, they get engaged, but the story quickly turns into a way of finding the love that will always be there for you: family. Believing in someone even when they don’t believe in themselves is love, and you’ll realize that if you watch the movie.

By the way, the plot ending was crazy unpredictable. I knew love would solve everything, and that nobody would die (because it’s Disney, and nobody ever dies), but it was the first completely unpredictable ending I’ve ever seen Disney make. Hopefully one day, I’ll be able to join that crew and make movies like these.

2. The Music

Okay, I’m going to be completely honest. The music is not the greatest. I only liked “Let It Go”, which led me to believe that Disney probably centered the whole movie around that concept. I’m all for girl power, like Elsa seems to create for herself, but the spontaneity of the idea was too unreal.

let it goBut the rest of the music isn’t the best I’ve seen. To be honest, Beauty and the Beast was a little bit more original, with “Be Our Guest” and “Tale as Old as Times”. It is good that this movie has turned into something much more contemporary, not focused entirely on traditional, slow-waltz music. But songs like “Love is an Open Door” and “For the First Time in Forever” were a bit cheesy when I first watched it. I will already say that, right now, half of you already disagree with me.

This is one of the movies that don’t get cheesy after watching multiple times. But when I first watched it, I was sitting at my computer alone and criticizing everything. The one other movie you should know that I love is Les Miserables, as well as the musical itself; this is not a movie for everyone, because all they do is sing, which I believe is a form of communication and art form.

The creators of Frozen, tried to do something very similar to what Les Miserables did; they sung their conversations and words multiple times. Go back and watch Elsa and Anna talk to each other in the reprise version of “For the First Time in Forever”. It’s good, and I think it’s great that Disney started off with something different, but it could use some development in fluidity and emotional display. The words are fine, but communication seemed a bit tacky when I first watched it, which can easily be fixed with practice. I really hope Disney continues working at that.

3. The Voices

Some of you don’t realize this, but the voices in this movie are some of the most legendary Broadway singers that I have heard. Let’s go through the list, shall we?

Anna = Kristen Bell (Tom Sawyer)

Elsa = Idina Menzel (Wicked)

Kristoff = Jonathan Groff (Spring Awakening, Glee)

Olaf = Josh Gad (Book of Mormon)

Hans = Santino Fontana (Cinderella)

And so many more Tony, Oscar, Golden Globe winners. There are some problems with the character and voice match ups though, but the voices in themselves are incredible and I wish I could always sound like that.?????????????????????????????

Idina Menzel played Elphaba, the Wicked Witch of the West, in the original showcasing of Wicked, but her match up with Elsa was very odd. Listening to “Let it Go” was great, but when I first saw Elsa sing it on screen, it sounded like she was lip-singing. It was like she was too small and too different from Idina’s huge voice, which seemed fake. Some of my criticisms here may be coming because I’ve seen Idina as Elphaba, which was very different.

Jonathan Groff has the most beautiful voice I’ve ever heard, yet he is only given one, small song “Reindeers are Better than People”, which was probably the worst song out of all of them. I wish he would have sung more, but maybe he’ll do that soon. Santino Fontana was perfect for the part; he played the Prince in Cinderella. Josh Gad is absolutely hilarious and has a very opera-sounding voice on those long head notes that really resonate with you.

And, last of all, I have a lot to say and I’m sorry this wasn’t one of my usual advice about life posts. But you will get these posts once in a while, about my opinions about what’s going on in the world. Because that’s what you should be doing: keeping up with things and it’s okay to listen to what other people have to say. Hope you stay in touch and keep reading!

 

Leave a Reply

